Confessions of a Xennial Mom — An Intro

Sara Trimble
4 min readMay 1, 2021

Dearly beloved,

We are gathered here today to get through this thing called Parenthood (or whatever Prince said).

Real-life photo of a mother who got it all done on time.

Nothing in this world is more rewarding, more frustrating, or more expensive than raising a child. When there are multiple kids, there’s extra stress, expenses, and shorter nerves and patience. But there are also more kisses, cuddles, adorable heart-melting moments, and yes, tons of times where you’ll tear your hair out.

As any parent can tell you, the biggest frustration of being in charge of a small human is all the unwanted advice and judgment you get — whether it’s from family, friends, or complete strangers.

Over my seventeen years through this soul-battering journey of motherhood, I’ve seen it all, heard it all, and experienced it all.

The most significant thing I’ve learned throughout this war is that Mother knows best. I’m happy to share my war stories, my trials, and tribulations with other parents and listen to responses. But at the end of the day, I’m going to continue raising my children as I see fit, regardless of judgment and comments from the peanut gallery.

As a Xennial, I use a unique parenting mix of methods taken from the days of old (the Boomers if you will), the modern, and my own experiences. I may not be the perfect mother in everyone else’s book but to my children, I am the best in the world.

As a parent, I have no problems admitting I have no idea what I’m doing most of the time. I wing it and somehow everything turns out okay. But along the way, I’ve learned some valuable life lessons and enjoyed plenty of laughs, a few tears, and even some times when I considered committing a crime just to get a few hours of peace and quiet away from it all.

If you’re a parent who feels clueless most of the time, who’s had a parenting fail, or you’re just experiencing a situation you’ve never dealt with, you’re my peeps.

In an effort to get back to my writing roots, I’ve put together a delightfully humorous, terrifyingly accurate portrayal of lessons I’ve learned trying to raise children in a world gone mad.

If you’re looking to read hilarious stories, valuable parenting lessons, tips for success, or if you just want to hear someone else’s parenting fails so you can feel better about the job you’re doing, hit subscribe. And don’t be shy! Leave a comment sharing your favorite (or horrifying) parenting moments, lessons, or tips you think other parents should know, ask for advice, or just form a friendship.

Other than my husband, my oldest best friend is 16, and my youngest 8. I need socialization with adults! Help a momma out. Share with your friends, your family, strangers on your social media. If you see a parent struggling that needs a laugh, this is the place for them.

Stay tuned as I share my Confessions of a Xennial Mom, starring yours truly and the four freeloaders that suck my soul dry.

WARNING:

If you are a sensitive soul that needs a safe place and has vapors anytime you see a child eating processed sugar, riding a bike without a helmet, going outside to get dirty (someone call Child Protective Services!), or getting roasted by parents, you’re in the wrong place. Please leave now.

But if your parenting style could classify as a bit on the savage side, this parenting journal will make you laugh, cry, and possibly give you ideas to use on your kids too.

--

--